IW Book Awards 2023


1st – Out On An Island edited by Franko Figueiredo-Stow and Caroline Diamond (£200)

2nd – Rough Diamond – Notes From A Big Island by George East

3rd – Yarmouth  and  Shalfleet- Coastal Town and Country Parrish by Jill Cowley


1st – Twice Hexed by Julia Tuffs (£200)

2nd – Maddie the Baddie by Alan Barbara

3rd – A Red Sky – by Jo Cooper

Book of the Year

Out On An Island (£500)

Of the winning title, Hunter said: “There isn’t a book anywhere in the UK in print that documents the LGBTQ+ history so well. ‘Out On An Island’ is a beautifully produced book and is of historic significance not only for the Isle of Wight, but for the whole of the UK.''

Independent Arts was the Chosen Charity for 2023

 Independent Arts were this year's chosen charity, they gave a fantastic presentation and raised a goodly amount of money from the raffle which had an incredibly lavish array of prizes donated by local businesses, and they made so potentially beneficial contacts, so very worth their while.

The IW Book Awards was launched in 2022 

Winner of Fiction: Marion Carmichael for Green Grass Stockings.

Winner of Children's Books: Meg L. Hewison for My Friends by the Beach.

Winner of Non-Fiction: Kenneth Hicks for An Island Legacy.

The authors of all the books shortlisted were given a certificate, while the winners each received £100.

Overall winner of the Isle of Wight Book of the Year 2022: Kenneth Hicks
received £500 courtesy of David and Patsy Franks of Cowes, for An Island Legacy. Kenneth kindly donated all of his winnings to Mountbatten.